If Only We All Had Money Trees

To get where you want to get you have to want it, work for it and fight for it. I had been working 2 jobs in seven years. Sometimes that would mean, a 10-12 hour day or a 12 day work week. But I did what I had to do to help myself out. I had rent to pay, a car to pay off before I ended up buying another car in 2010 and pay that off in 4 years, bills to save for and I was only on a minimum wage when I first got my job. I don’t know how I managed, but I did. I’ve never owned a credit card so I am proud to say that I have earned and deserved my holidays. Yes it may have taken me a while to get there but I got there in the end. And I’m still going. People have told me I’m such a money saver, but if we want something bad than we should work hard for it. Here is some money saving tips I go by:

  • With whatever coin I have left over from my weeks pay, or have sitting in my wallet I will put that in a coin jar. My cousin told me another tip for coin saving. To separate gold and silver coins. Generally we get a lot more silver than we do with gold so I have a bigger jar for silver and a smaller one for gold. Make sure you count it up before heading to the bank to exchange it for notes or banking it.
  • I have so many different accounts for different things. I have an account for my bills (mobile phone, health insurance and anything else I need to pay), my everyday account, my lifetime savings account (everyone should pretty much know what goes in here) and my car account (services, tyres, roadside assist etc). This helps manage my money so I’m not forking out more than I should.
  • Look for activities that free to do around your city with friends/family. It could involve a hike and catching up with your friends that way or invite your friends around for dinner instead of paying for a meal.
  • When I go out for dinner, it’s very rare I’ll order a drink with my meal so I’ll usually just go for water. It’s healthy and it’s free!
  • If you really want or need something from the shops whether it be that new dress, or something to have in the house, ask the retailer if they do lay by. Instead of paying for the full amount, only a small amount of $$$ is required every week or fortnight.
  • When I go shopping and I see something I like, I have now been asking myself that question “do I really need that?” Trust me; it’s worked a treat so far.
  • If ordering online, there will be a voucher code button to put in to get a discount. Google to see if you can find any codes. I bought 2 pair of shoes online, googled a code for the website and saved myself 20 bucks.
  • Learn to say “No” to outings when you know you don’t have the money for it. If you know you have a birthday or a special dinner coming up, remember to keep that in the back of your mind. Do you really need to spend that $17 on a movie?
  • Depending on how much you deposit into your bank account each month some banks will waive the fee, saving yourself that extra 2-4 dollars per month. Hey, that’s a cup of coffee!
  • I also write down a list of things that are happening during the month or the entire year so I know when to expect a bill, a birthday, a car service etc. The best program for this for me would be Excel as it helps me add up all the totals without having to use a calculator.

If you have any tips on saving money, comment below and share. I hope some of these tips are helpful for you. I know they have been for me.

Leave a Reply

