Nervous About Travelling Solo?

So you want to travel solo but too scared to take that leap of faith. Well let me tell you something. These days there is no such thing as a non solo traveller. Trust me, I know. Because I am one myself.

I remember my first solo trip like it was yesterday. Nervous about missing my planes, getting lost and not enjoying my holiday as much as I expected. Well I had no issues (and still none to this day – touch wood) and I had a blast! It was the best thing that could have ever happened to me. I can definitely feel the change within myself and now I’m keen as a bean to get out there and see more.

In my eyes (and because I’ve only ever travelled solo) I think it’s one of the best forms of travel. You get to find yourself, push your limits, the people who you meet know very little about you so you can act how you like, don’t have to worry about doing something someone else wants to do that you don’t want to do and the list goes on.

If you still don’t like the idea of travelling solo then here are a few tips that may help you think twice about it.

Do a tour

These are great for solo travellers, especially first timers as most of the people on these group tours are also in the same boat as you.  This is also your chance to get out there and mingle with strangers if you don’t usually do this in your own city. Plus everything is pretty much organised for you. Of course they give you opportunities to do the activities you want to do. Most, if not all tours, don’t always include every meal of the day because they want to give you the chance to explore the city yourself.

Keep Family and Friends in the loop where you are

Okay, so there is nothing worst then people stressing about your whereabouts and the way the world is at the moment, I don’t blame them. But don’t let this stop you. With technology being so advanced now there are ways to keep in touch. I use apps such as Viber and WhatsApp and of course face book and instagram to help keep my family’s minds at peace. Check to see if your accommodation has wifi and if so, Skype your family. Just keep in mind of the time difference.

Believe you can and you will

If you think to yourself “oh I can’t do that, I can’t do this” then you’re not really pushing yourself to live. Just by buying your plane ticket then you’ve already pushed yourself to do it. First step: check!

Look for Inspiration

I don’t know how many times I have referred my friends to some of my inspirational people of travel (World of Wanderlust is at the top of my list) but this can also help. They are blogging, vlogging and doing everything else in between to make sure that you get the best out of your holiday when you plan and organise to go. If their websites aren’t enough for you to get out and explore, then check out their photos – most post on Instagram and link up with their face book pages. You’d be surprised to see where the most wonderful places on Earth are. They may not even be on your list of places to see but I’m sure they will be by the time you’ve seen the evidence.

No matter where you go, you will always enjoy yourself. Don’t let anything get you down whether it be a missed flight, lost luggage (just make sure you carry your valuables with you on board) and so on. So get out there and explore the world. Seize the moment! This is your life! Make with it what you will.

Leave a Reply

