Things I Have Learned About Myself Through Travel

When you travel, it’s a time where you can discover and found out what type of person you truly are.

Before I went overseas for the first time in 2012 I had to ask myself these 3 questions. Was I ready for this? Did I do the right thing in booking something I wasn’t so sure about? Would this change me? Of course all my answers where yes, no and maybe but I wasn’t going to know for sure if I didn’t go on this holiday.

By the time I came back from New Zealand, I felt like a changed woman. I felt like a true explorer. An explorer who did more than explore her own backyard. Someone who was as free as a bird and not locked in its cage anymore. Once you step foot on that flight you know a part of you will always come back differently. There is no denying it; travel changes you for the good.

You come back with a purpose to live life to the fullest, a head full of knowledge, experiences shown on photographs and the itch to travel til your heart’s content. Now that I have experienced different cultures, new cities, wonderful sights; I’m really keen to get out there and see more of the world.

Some of the things that I’ve learnt about myself are:

  1. Never rely on anyone but yourself. If you keep holding off your travel dreams waiting for someone to come with you, you could be waiting a long time which brings me to my next point.
  2. Life is short. We all have time on our hands, but we never know when it’s truly up. Go out there and make it happen. Stop delaying and get on that plane and see the world.
  3. The term “YOLO” (You Only Live Once), which I use a lot, has been another thing I’ve learnt about myself. Make your life count and make it a story worth telling. Travel turns you into a story teller.
  4. Everyone has different experiences. People give you their reviews about places they have visited. In all honesty, you can’t base their experience on something you plan on doing.
  5. You can do the impossible. Ever had a fear of doing something completely out of this world? Why not try it? Ever had people tell you “you can’t do that”? Prove them wrong.
  6. Believe in yourself. Never did I imagine that I would actually be posting blogs on the worldwide web. I’ve impressed myself by getting it set up, laying it out how I want it and figuring out what I want to talk about. I know there are plenty of travel bloggers out there but each and every one of us is different compared to others
  7. Be yourself. This is a great time to be you. Your new friends don’t know you from a bar of soap compared with the ones you have at home. Everyone is different and unique in their own way. This is your chance to shine and show the world who you are.
  8. You really do miss home when you’re abroad. Everyone gets home sick and wants to sleep in their own beds, in the comfort of their own home. To make your homesick at bay bring a few things that will help ease it. Like a photo of family and/or friends. I usually have photos on my phone of my loved ones so I can look at them anytime I want.
  9. You learn to appreciate the body you have a little more. I have definitely learnt this. It’s amazing what your body can achieve. From long distance walking, the jetlag and everything else in between. Just remember to feed it healthy foods on your trip. Don’t over indulge. Something I have done many times.
  10. Don’t have any expectations. Travelling is like a first date. You don’t know what you’re getting yourself into, whether it’ll let you down or give you such a high. It’s better to go in with no expectations, that why you won’t get your hopes up. You don’t want your holiday to be ruined. This is what I have learnt over the past couple of years.

What are some of the things you have learnt about yourself while travelling? I’d love to hear yours.

Leave a Reply

