Why I Decided to Blog My Travels

We’re all thrown the question “what do you want to be when you grow up” when we’re all old enough to start thinking about the future. What? Like we’re supposed to figure that out before we venture off into the chapter after high school. I for one struggled with that question growing up and I still do to this day.

It wasn’t until I found my true passion in 2012. Travel. I had enjoyed it that much that I made a goal for myself. Go somewhere once a year I’d never been before. So far I have been to two other countries besides Australia.  I know that isn’t a lot but hey, a girl can only explore where her money takes her. In previous blogs I mentioned I had no credit cards, have paid 2 cars off in 5.5 years and I moved out when I was 20 so every holiday I have taken, I’ve felt like I have deserved.

Grand Canyon, Arizona, USA – 2013

Last year I created my Instagram account for all my travel photos as it was a way to document my travels around the world. You can follow me at kristaswanderingfootprints. Before setting up my website I also created a Facebook page which I still use and to find me there, it’s Krista’s Wandering Footprints

So why did I decide to start blogging my travels? Never in my wildest dreams did I think I was going to start blogging about my trips. I didn’t even think of writing as a career but now that I have read more blogs in the past year I felt it was time to get my butt into gear and start inspiring people to get out there and travel too. I also like to take many a photo when I’m travelling so I thought I’d share my love of photo-taking and experiences around the world.

Fox Glacier, Franz Josef, New Zealand – 2012

Travel is something I recommend to people every day. You only live once so make it a story worth telling. It’s also a creative way to help cure the travel bug (even though I know there is no such antidote) which I have badly.

So what would I like to achieve from this? Well I would like to eventually learn how to vlog. Vlogging actually takes me to the place where that person is instead of trying to imagine their world through words. I’d also like to see as much of the world as I can before my time is up.

Something else I’d like to achieve while blogging is to meet some of the bloggers I follow in person. I’ve already ticked off one which you can read here.

Leave a Reply

