How to Cure the Travel Bug

If you’re a wanderer like me, then you know what I’m talking about when I say I have been bitten by the travel bug… bad! Almost every second of my day is consumed with thoughts about travelling to a place I’m yet to discover or one I have already experienced.

On another note, there is no known antidote to help cure the travel bug. So I suggest the following to help keep it at bay.

Feeding it with travel photos either you took yourself or photos other travellers have taken. Thanks to social media this is now possible. With one of my favourite and most used apps on my phone, Instagram is the place to find a world full of colour and of course photos.

You may even find that reading blogs help keep it at bay for just that little bit longer. Some of my favourite blogs to read are World of Wanderlust, Endlessly Exploring, Go Seek Explore, Polka Dot Passport, Hey Nadine (I watch videos mostly from her) and I have just come across a new favourite, Flying the Nest. An Australian couple blogging and vlogging daily on their year of travel. Reading blogs take you their world of travel but it also gives you ideas on places you want to go and visit that you never thought you’d dream of.

Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia - 2014
Byron Bay, New South Wales, Australia – 2014

If the travel bug keeps bitting take a day off and have a long weekend somewhere in your own country and explore. People usually travel the world before exploring their own backyards. How ironic? My goal is to visit all capitals of Australia before I die and so far I have crossed off Brisbane, Melbourne, Sydney, Canberra (Australia’s Captial) and Darwin leaving only Perth, Adelaide & Hobart to do. I also want to see more of Victoria like the Great Ocean Road, See the Whitsundays, Snorkel more of the Great Barrier Reef and visit the Kimberelys.

Having set up my Travel instagram page last year I have done nothing but follow fellow travellers who have been crossing off items off their bucket list like myself, been to places I want to see and much more. These people are my inspiration to take my travels further and also to take better photos when I travel.

Since starting my travels back in 2012, I have now set a goal for each year. “Once a year, go someplace you’ve never been before” – Dalai Lama. Life is what you make it they say so why not go out and explore every little corner of the world – ok so that may be impossible, but there’s no harm in trying, right?!.

Remember it’s your life and no one else’s. Do what makes you happy as when you look back on life you want to be able to say you lived a good one – “the world is a book, and those who do not travel read only a page” – Saint Augustine.

Krista

xx

Leave a Reply

