What to Do in New York City: America Edition

For someone who hasn’t explored a lot of this beautiful world, I saw and did a lot of things in New York City alone. Nine days would be enough right? WRONG! So totally wrong. I wish I had two full weeks here yet that still wouldn’t have been enough. New York City has plenty on offer so below here are the things I did while I visited this beautiful place.

Try a dirty water dog – yes, the name doesn’t sound so appealing, believe me when I say my face screwed up like there was a bad taste in my mouth but when you’re in New York, you have to try one. I only had ketchup on mine but the trolleys offer mustard and sauerkraut. 

DSCN5176See a Broadway – This is an absolute must do on your list if you ever visit New York exclamation point. There are a variety of shows on offer so there is bound to be one that you’ll like. I saw Aladdin and that was amazing. James Monroe Iglehart who plays the role as “Genie” did an outstanding performance. I really felt like he made the show! Some broadways happening now is: Matilda, Wicked, The Lion King, Chicago, and Jersey Boys just to name a few. 

20150616_213549

Spend a day in Central Park – You’ll need all day for this activity but Central Park won’t leave you disappointed. Make sure you visit the visitor centre to get a map because Central Park is quite large. Here you’ll be able to see Strawberry Fields – a dedication to the Beatles, the Reservoir, The Alice in Wonderland Statue, the Loeb Boathouse, Belvedere Castle, Bethesda Terrace, Conservatory Water, Great Lawn, Central Park Zoo which is what we did. Perfect to spend lunch in or hire a boat and paddle the lake. I just loved Central Park.

20150519_124331

See the 9/11 Reflecting Pool & Museum – Sad as it is, we visited this beautiful memorial for all the people that lost their lives on that sad day. It has been very well presented and looked after. Such a touching piece of history. We did the museum in half a day which is what you need if not another hour or so.

20150520_090356Visit the Brooklyn Bridge – I was blown away with the design of this bridge and seeing it in person, well it was better than seeing it in movies and photos. This is quite a walk from one end to the other so be sure to wear comfortable footwear. At one end, we picked ourselves up some fruit on a stick. I had pineapple. And by the time we reached the other end, we decided to have waffles. So good!20150614_191014View the city from the One World Trade Centre – This just opened two weeks before I arrived back in New York City (perfect timing, I know) and even though I’m scared of heights I agreed to do it. This is such a beautiful building. The lift ride to get to the top is something to look forward too as well. We went during the morning and well you know what happens when you try to take photos behind glass, reflections! I took a couple of photos from here but this is hard to avoid. 

DSCN4931Empire State Building – I did this attraction before the World Trade Centre and by the time I got to the top I felt pretty alright. I wasn’t scared being up there. It was great. It felt like I was on top of the world. The day we went up it was a bit foggy so we didn’t get a clear view of Central Park in the background. Viewing the city from a high rise gives you a better perspective of how big New York City actually is. I will however suggest this: it’s not worth the extra money to go to the other viewing point. It’s small and there isn’t much rom to walk around… comfortably.

20150611_211433Try a New York Slice Pizza – Ok so by the time we had tried this it was late at night (I’m not use to eating late at night) and I was sick. I had a couple of mouthfuls and that was it, but the place that we went to was amazing! I’d like to go back and enjoy a full slice.

DSCN5075Times Square – No trip to New York City is a trip without a visit to Times Square. This area stays alive all throughout the night providing entertainment everywhere you look. The lights shine their brightest and you can see from blocks away. Here you can find the largest Toys ‘R’ Us, M&M world, Hershey World, Street performers, opportunities to get photos with characters and so much more.

FB_IMG_1435010069475Madame Tussards – If you’re after a bit of light hearted fun then head to Madame Tussards to get photos with a number of celebrities – waxed ones of course. This was the first time I had visited and I was excited to finally see it. This takes about an hour so if you have a show to see later on in the day/night, why not head in an hour and half beforehand to kill some time.

DSCN5159An afternoon at Smorgasburg – During the summer months on Sundays from 11am – 6pm Brooklyn holds the event, Smorgasburg where there are endless amounts of food and drinks on offer. Perfect for a clear day but be sure to wear sunscreen and a hat. It was so hot out and there was no shade whatsoever.

DSCN4953See the LOVE and HOPE signs. The Love sign is located on 1359 Ave of the Americas New York, NY 10019 and the Hope sign is on 810 7th Ave New York, NY 10019.

FB_IMG_1434944953042

A couple of things I need to see when I go back to New York City: See the Statue of Liberty, The “Friends” and “Carrie Bradshaw’s” Apartments, Go to the Top of the Rock, See more of Central Park, See the Flatiron Building up close etc…

While this only really counts for 6 days of seeing New York, the other 3 days were spent doing day trips to Philadelphia, Boston and Jersey Shore. Have you been to New York City and what was your favourite thing to do? Or what do you want to see when you visit New York for the first time?

One thought on “What to Do in New York City: America Edition

Leave a Reply

