7 Reasons Why It’s good to Travel Solo:

What is solo travel? To me it can be either one of two things. 

Travelling solo, alone. Or travelling alone with the intention of doing a tour. There is no right or wrong answer to “Solo Travel” as we are all a curious bunch of people exploring this world at our own pace and the way we want too. I have done tours by myself and I have also travelled to different countries by myself meeting up with friends who kindly enough had taken time out of their busy lives to show me their home (I’m forever grateful).

“I was never going to go if I waited for someone to come with me”

FB_IMG_1441848800348

So if you’re looking for some reasons why it’s best to travel solo, just keep on reading. Warning: this blog post may cause you to start planning your next vacay!

Reason #1: Travelling with your partner, a family member or a friend can be great fun (Don’t get me wrong). You have someone to share all those travel moments with and someone by your side if things take a turn for the worse. But it’s great to travel solo because there may be sights/places you don’t want to particularly do/see. You’ll have time to yourself and you can do your holiday at your own pace. No one will be there to stop you from doing the things you want to do.

Reason #2: It’s a chance to meet some incredible people who are yet to cross your path. These people may be in your life for the amount of time you are on holiday or for the rest of your life. They may even cause you to come out of your shell and bring you out of your comfort zone.

20150530_185857

Reason #3: Once you have experience travelling solo (being on tours or not) you will crave to travel by yourself again. The freedom of solo travel is far better than anything I have come across. Making your own plans to have a holiday is great as you don’t have to work around anyone but yourself. It’s up to you and only you where you plan to go, when and for however long.

Reason #4: Not really a reason for travelling solo but still a good enough reason to just go – It can open your eyes and make you feel more appreciated of what you have back home. Since leaving Australia I have never been more interested in seeing other countries and what they have to offer. The travel bug has LITERALLY bitten me hard. And for the good!

FB_IMG_1438924057177

Reason #5: If you’re too scared to venture out on your own (I know with some countries I totally am) why not join a tour group. This is what I usually do if I’m not arranging to meet up with friends around the world. Yes it may be a little on the more expensive side then staying in a hostel but I actually enjoy doing tours. The only thing you need to worry about is getting yourself there. Never did I think I would fly to America and do a Contiki solo. A 14 hour flight was daunting as it was the longest I had ever been on. But I’m glad I took the plunge. It was certainly a holiday I won’t forget anytime soon.

Reason #6: Travel changes you and it also inspires you. It can be from experiencing a different culture to jumping at 15,000ft out of a perfectly good plane. Whatever it is that you do you know that it’s changing and inspiring you little by little; for the better.

Reason #7: Travelling solo is also a good way of getting to know you. How would you handle situation if the situation wasn’t good? Would you be able to cope with being alone? And so on and so on. It’s ok to push the boundaries because if you never go and try it you’ll never know.

Lets just say I am keen to go travelling again!

20141117_101435

What are some reasons to travel solo? Comment below.

Krista x

Leave a Reply

