Disney Theme Parks [Part I]

Planning a trip to America, some if not most people tend to plan a visit to the ever so magical place on earth known as Disneyland and/or Disneyworld. 20150521_112418Watching Disney as a young child I have always been a fan and still love them til this day. Having visited both in the last two years I can definitely say I was transported to my Disney dream. Growing up watching movies, there would always be trailers advertising both theme parks and since then I had made it my dream to visit both. I can cross these off my bucket list.

On my trips to the States this year we (Adam and I) spent four amazing days in Orlando experiencing the main theme parks – Animal Kingdom, Magic Kingdom, Epcot & Hollywood Studios plus I cannot forget to put in Universal Studios but that’ll be in another blog post. That’s 5 theme parks in three days!

Day one consisted of hanging by the pool and drinking cocktails. The heat was definitely welcoming and so was the pool. Hey, when you stay at a resort you’ve got to make the most of the pool, right? This was followed by a dinner at Ragland Road which is an Irish Pub at Downtown Disney and had a few drinks at Jelly Rolls on the Disney Boardwalk where we watched amazing piano players battling it out against each other with known songs from different decades. A fantastic first night in Florida.

 DSCN3616 DSCN3617

DSCN3623 DSCN3625 DSCN3626 DSCN3628

Animal Kingdom and Epcot were the first lot of theme parks we visited on day 2. We started our day with a small Safari in Animal Kingdom as one of my bucket list items is to go on a wild safari in Africa. Close enough right? Not really, but we saw some amazing animals and I was happy. We watched a couple of shows and went on a couple of rides and before we knew it, we were leaving the theme park to head to the next – Epcot.

Epcot was pretty good. My favourite thing about Epcot – visiting all the different countries around the park. To see as much as you can with what each country offers this can take you a good half a day to do especially with the queues. During the visit to Epcot we went on a couple of rides (as you do with theme parks), some leaving us a little disappointed. This was where I learnt that I CAN NOT cope with simulator rides. The Mission to Mars was my least favourite. Never again. Epcot is also a great park to visit if you want a low-key sort of day.

DSCN3646 DSCN3654 DSCN3660 DSCN3666 DSCN3672 DSCN3679 DSCN3696

They also put on an amazing fireworks show in the middle of the lake so get yourself a water view seat and you’ll be blown away. My favourite ride was Test Track. You design your car with your partner, hope into your car and race against another team. The speed is just unbelievable but it was so thrilling! We ended up going on this ride towards the end of the night. For most of the day there was either a really long wait time or it had broke down. I can see why people love Test Track.

FB_IMG_1434945143016 20150522_225106

The night had ended and we made our way back to our shuttle bus to go back to our hotel. Lucky for us and for everyone who stays within the Disney Resort there are free shuttles to and from the theme parks from our accommodation. What a day! A fantastic day to start off the theme park hopping. We both needed sleep and we were looking forward to it.

Overall, my favourite out of the two theme parks on Day 2 in Florida was Epcot.

Keep posted for Part 2 of my Florida Adventures.

2 thoughts on “Disney Theme Parks [Part I]

Leave a Reply

