Disney Theme Parks [Part II]

Onto Part 2 of the Disney theme parks. When I planned this holiday I thought 4 days would have been enough to do all the main theme parks. I was wrong. Time just went so fast that it felt like we weren’t at the parks for a long period of time. If I ever do head back to Florida then I’ll be sure to spend a good day at Magic Kingdom and Universal Studios. So much I want to do again and again and again.

If you want to read Part I of my Florida adventures, click here.

Day 3 included a half day at Hollywood Studios which was busy thanks to the Memorial Day long weekend and also it was Star Wars weekend. Our first ride was Stars Tours – I was expecting something completely different but it in fact had something to do with Star Wars. Thanks to some fast passes we were able to enjoy some of the amazing rides they had there. One ride I recommend you do is the Toy Story Mania ride. This was just a ball of fun shooting objects and trying to beat the person who you are seated next too. Of course my aim isn’t as good as what it should be so I failed miserably, but that didn’t stop me from having fun. Another easy ride is the Great Movie ride where you sit in a cart behind a vehicle and go through different movies senses throughout the years.

DSCN3767 DSCN3756

DSCN3765 DSCN3750

DSCN3753 DSCN3747

After our time at Hollywood Studios we decided to head back to our hotel and rest for a couple of hours which included some pool time. This was a great day to use the pool as the heat was getting to me. And I thought Brisbane was bad. After the pool we planned to have a nap to prepare ourselves for the late night we were about to have.

 

The time had come and we were on our way to Magic Kingdom. Thanks to the closing hours we decided to arrive later at night. Already 10pm and there was a crowd battling each other to get in. I have never seen a theme park so busy this late at night before or so many prams and electric scooters in my life.

20150524_000840

We finally got through the crowd and made our way inside. It was amazing! Music was coming from the speakers and people were chatting away, lining the streets getting ready for the parade. On our way to the first ride – Pirates of the Caribbean, we make a quick stop at the Tiki Tiki Birds.

20150524_000607

After 15 minutes of robotic birds singing to their hearts content it was time to head to the POTC ride. Now both Adam and I wore jeans as we weren’t sure what the weather was going to be like this late at night. We lined up and eventually got ourselves to the boat. We were in the very front row. We were excited. After a couple of minutes of passing through scenes we were in the dark and before we knew it we were going down and bam, water gets everywhere. We were soaked! I don’t know about you, but I hate the feeling of soaked jeans. Especially when you’re wearing them. We made the decision to head back to our hotel to get changed. On route to the bus station we got stuck twice. Thanks to the night parade and fireworks (which we were totally in the wrong place to view them) we didn’t get our hotel until midnight.

DSCN3793

By the time we had arrived back to Magic Kingdom, most people were leaving by 12pm which left us with 2 hours to experience as much as we could. Before we headed for any rides we stopped at one of the cafes and grabbed a bite to eat. One ride Adam told me I should definitely do was Space Mountain. Now Adam doesn’t like to give things away and didn’t even give me a hint as to what this ride as going to be like. When we got the start of the line, I found out that it’s a roller coaster, in the dark. Not was I was expecting but it was so much fun. I was a little bit scared my glasses would come off so took them off and shoved them in my bag, gently of course. This was probably my favourite ride at Magic Kingdom so far. We did a couple of the rides where you sit in a carriage and go around a story theme. These included The Little Mermaid, Peter Pan and the Haunted Mansion. Not a fan of ANYTHING scary I was a little nervous about the Haunted Mansion. By the time the ride ended I was like “Oh is that it?”.

Our next ride was the Buzz Light-year one  which wasn’t as good as the Toy Story Mania one in Hollywood Studios (Get a fast pass for this one)

When then decided to queue up for the 7 dwarfs mine train ride. This ride always has a long wait time. After experiencing it, Adam and I were left disappointed as we felt like it wasn’t a long enough ride to wait that long for. Time wasn’t on our side and we had a spare 10 minutes to do Mickey’s Philhar Magic Show. This was good and it will definitely wow the kids. A 3D experience not to be missed. Especially if you love Mickey Mouse and his friends. We strolled back through the park as it was closing time. it was so quiet. couldn’t it have been like this for the entire night we were there?

 We did plenty! Probably the best theme park I have been too in a while. I can’t wait to go back!

20150524_031915

3am struck and it was time to head home. We arrived back to our room and with our heads hitting the pillow it was 4 am. After finishing 4 theme parks I felt excited and exhausted at the same time. It’s taken me 27 years to experience as much Disney as I could have possibly imagined. It was fantastic! I now had high expectations for the rest of my holiday thanks for Florida. I know I will be back sometime soon (I hope).

Click here for my next adventure at Universal Studios Part I.

One thought on “Disney Theme Parks [Part II]

Leave a Reply

