My Experience at Universal Studios [Part I]

Day four of our adventure through Florida and we had already ticked off 4 theme parks.

20150524_122547

By this stage I thought I may have been exhausted and not wanting to experience another theme park, but when you come to Florida you NEED to go to Universal Studios. I found this one to be quite better than the LA one PLUS this one had both Harry Potter worlds and I love Harry Potter. I was more than excited and could not wait to explore all the different rides and shops this park had to offer. 

Our morning started with a cab ride from our Hotel – Art of Animation, to the park. We made our way up the stairs and walked through the city walk where shops and eateries are located. Here we stopped at Red Oven Pizza Bakery and ordered a pizza each. The pizzas were amazing and also HUGE! I couldn’t finish mine as much as I wanted too. Stop here if you want a bite to eat before you enter the park. They are made fresh to order.

DSCN3818

We arrived at around the opening times and the lines were already long. As soon as we walked through the entrance (Islands of Adventure,) we headed over to the lockers to home our belongings while we enjoyed the fun and, some wet rides. Note to self: if you wear glasses make sure you wear contacts. Much easier to see if in case you forget your glasses. This happened to me. Glasses in my bag in the locker. Great I was as blind as a bat for the first part of the day.

DSCN3846 DSCN3837 

Our first ride was such a great way to get the day rolling – The forbidden Journey in the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. The line took us about 40 minutes to get through but walking through the building while waiting for the ride really did make it better. Moving photos, a polygraph of a scene from the movie. It felt like we were in the actual movie itself and I could not wait to go on this ride. Our time had come and we were off. This was one of my favourite rides throughout the entire stay in Florida. We eventually got to go on it again (later in the day and this time with my glasses on, don’t worry they didn’t fall off). Tip: Heading to Universal Studios Orlando – be sure to get to this ride earlier as it’s quite popular.

DSCN3825 DSCN3861 DSCN3854

 After the ride we came through the gift shop and had a quick look around. First ride down and I was already on a high! We took a stroll back through Hogsmeade and ended up in Honeydukes where it’s heaven in a shop. Sweet treats galore! And well me, I’m a sweet tooth so I couldn’t wait to see what they had inside. I purchased the chocolate frog which also comes with a card like the movie. But be wary of the prices, they are expensive (I think I paid about $12-$15USD for mine), along with Bertie Bots every flavoured beans. Yup they mean every flavour, kids!

DSCN3862 DSCN3865

We walked back out of the shop and headed towards another part of Universal Studios, Marvel Superhero Island where we went on the Spiderman ride. This was pretty cool and I would recommend this one. Soon after that we decided it was time to do the 3 WET rides! Yes we got soaked. More than what I was wanting but all a part of the experience, right? The rides include Jurassic Park River Adventure, Dudley Do-Right’s Ripsaw Falls & Popeye & Bluto’s Bilge-Rat Barges which was the one we got soaked the most. After we finished all three rides, the weather turned and started raining. We made our way back to our lockers to get change and to head over to the other part of the theme Park.

DSCN3871 DSCN3869 DSCN3851 DSCN3827

Walking through all the different themes in the park was amazing! Truly one of the best theme parks I have been too. The sun was out and beaming and we decided to stop and grab the ever-so famous butter beers. These were delicious! You have a choice of 2 different ones – slushy or the normal one. The slushy was beyond amazing and as much as I wanted a second one I couldn’t fit it in. Perfect for a hot afternoon. We drank these while standing in line for the Hogwarts express (no food or drink is allowed on board) so without finishing it I chucked mine in the bin.

DSCN3860 DSCN3872

Our time had come and we were on board the Hogwarts Express. This is such a great experience that everyone who goes to Universal must do it (make sure you buy both theme park tickets). The window is a screen and you see scenery, George and Fred flying around, shadows are displayed on the doors of the cabin and commentary is all around you from a number of characters. This lasted for about 5 minutes or so but it was a great 5 minutes!

Sorry for all the Harry Potter photos, I went a bit HP crazy!

Stay tuned for another blog on Part II of Universal Studios Orlando.

 

One thought on “My Experience at Universal Studios [Part I]

Leave a Reply

