A 2015 Reflection

2015 – Where did you go?

It’s a question that a lot of people I know or follow on social media have been asking? Is it just me or did this year go way too fast? So I decided to do a recap of some of the things I got up too in 2015.

During my trip to the States & Canada I took a total of 7 flights, 4 bus rides and 3 train rides and a lot of car rides. Even though I had already been to the states it was weird sitting in the passenger side of a car as I felt I should have been driving. I have added another 10 states to my American list making the total 13 (wow, still a fair few to see) and visited Canada for the very first time, hitting 2 provinces – Quebec & Ontario.

DSCN3915

Whilst in the states I also crossed off Disneyworld off my bucket list. Disneyland and Disneyworld have now been conquered by Krista! Woo hoo. Doing both parks had always been a dream of mine for a while.

I got to see the stunning Niagara Falls (it’s been on my list for a while now) and try a few different cuisines and treats that Canada has to offer. I got to see 5 Canadian friends who were kind enough to take time out of their busy lives to hang out with me after only seeing them 7 months after I met them.

I got to celebrate my friend’s, Sarah, birthday with her, meet her family and friends as well! Spending 5 days with her wasn’t long enough but I’m glad we still got to see each other. She took me to my first baseball game in Columbus and that was so much fun! Now I just need to cross off the NFL, basketball and hockey to see live while over there.

I finally got to spend more than 2 minutes with Adam in person. After all our messaging day to day and a couple of Skype sessions, I flew over to hang out with him. It was a wonderful 2 weeks I got to spend with him and its 2 weeks I wouldn’t change it for anything.

New York City has just become my all time favourite city I have seen so far. I’m not sure whether it was spending time there with Adam (most probably) or if it something else but NYC has my heart!

2015 was the year I finally started my blog. With still a lot of work to do it I feel it has come a long way. I bought my domain, I have over 60 blog posts on there and views from a number of different countries which I thought wouldn’t have reached as far early on in its progression. I was also nominated for the Sisterhood of the World Blogger Award and have never felt more appreciated then I did when I got that nomination.

I created my Instagram account back in 2014 and 2015 was the year it reached over 1000 followers. Wow! So many people follow my adventures and I’m amazed! I’ve been featured on a couple of different accounts show casing my photos.

I have only taken 4 flights within Australia. So much smaller than what my flights were back in 2012. 2015 flight totals – 11.

I flew to Victoria and helped celebrated my Grandparents 60th Wedding Anniversary. What an achievement. I also got to do a couple of day trips to towns in Central Victoria which left me wanting more! So cute!

I flew to Sydney to spend my birthday with my friend Jess. I turned 27 and it was this year I was actually fine with turning another year older. The trip to Sydney was just amazing. We did so many things while I visited and I can’t wait to revisit again (even though I have been there a number of times).

I was asked to take some photos of a yoga instructor so she could put them up on her website which turned out to be pretty good in my eyes. Still working on the photography skills but I am getting there.

I met one of my travel blogger idols this year for a small meet up she organised in Brisbane. Meeting Brooke was marvellous. She definitely helped most of us in some way to achieve our travel dreams and to become travel bloggers. She answered all our questions we asked her. It felt like we were in an outdoor class room and learning all about the different things to do. After following her for months prior to the meet up I was so excited to meet my travel idol. My list of travel idols have grown and I hope to one day meet them in person.

2015 was also the year I started to vlog and while I am still learning how to create great content it has been an absolute blast finding out little things that will make my videos better. I hope that in 2016 I can make better videos and use higher quality equipment. My favourite video was the combined adventures I’ve had so far in the past three and a half years. I’m really looking forward to making more in 2016.

So what does 2016 have in store for me? I cannot give you a full answer but so far I have a trip planned to Canada with my sister and friend Jess at the end of September early October. This will be my sister’s first overseas holiday and we’re all pretty excited to be doing the west coast and hitting LA for a couple of days to do the theme parks.

My goals for 2016 (yes may already be some of my new year’s resolutions) are to take more adventures on weekends, connect with my friends and family more, work harder at my blog, create more video content, hopefully meet travel blogger/vloggers alike wherever I am, believe in myself a little more and just be happy with myself. I’m really looking forward to 2016. A new year, a fresh start.

What are your goals for 2016? And did you accomplish what you wanted to do in 2015?

Hope you all have a wonderful Christmas a Happy New Year!

Krista x

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

