I’d Be Lying if I Wasn’t Being Honest

This morning before I headed to work, I was scrolling through my Facebook feed when I saw someone post an article in a group I’m in. The article read “Hey Co-workers, stop shaming me for going on vacation”. Although I haven’t had a chance to read it (hopefully on my lunch break today), the title really stood out for me. I don’t get shamed by my co-workers as much as I do from my family and friends. Yup. That’s right. I get shamed by my loved ones. So how does this make me feel? Upset.

Why do people question you about taking holidays? Are they jealous? Are they living vicariously through you? Do they spend so much of their own money that they can’t afford to travel? Do they not have the guts to do it themselves? Do they have a different lifestyle then me? A number of questions float through my head and I’m still left wondering why. Why do they do this?

P1040373

We can do what we want without the approval from others and make our life the best life possible. So this is why I’m writing this post. I’m putting a stop to it. I HATE reading comments from my close friends and family saying “Oh you’re going on another holiday” or “You holiday way too much” or “You constantly think about travel”. I don’t care. This is what actually gets me through the working week. Knowing that the money I save is going towards something I will actually enjoy, gain new experiences from and see this beautiful world.

Everyone has different lives. Some people are married and have children, bought houses, have their own business, work 2 or 3 jobs at a time, study. EVERYONE LEADS DIFFERENT LIVES. And even though I would love to experience some of the above I know that none of that will happen for me at least for another couple of years yet.

20150524_000607

I set a goal for myself when my love of travelling took over. To visit a new destination once a year be it overseas or in my own country. Travel is my hobby. I love to take photos of my adventures and something that I’ve just started doing – videoing my adventures. I love filming, the editing process and the feeling of the finished product. My friends and family know me. They know I love to take as many photos as I have been known as the DP (designated photographer) at some events.

So don’t shame me for being me. This is what I love. This is what I do. This is who I am. From now on, if you’re not happy seeing posts of my travel photos or statuses about flying to a new location please don’t shame me. I will not have people bring me down and feel bad about my travel lifestyle.

“If travel was free, you’d never see me again”

20150905_111216

I’m grateful for each and every person who takes the time to read my posts, who watches my videos, who looks at my photos and keeps telling me to live my life to the fullest. That support truly means a lot to me.  You guys are my inspiration to keep on doing what I love so I can share my adventures with you.

Krista x

2 thoughts on “I’d Be Lying if I Wasn’t Being Honest

  1. Thank you Sarah. It’s great knowing there are other people out there who have been told the same as myself. I just can’t see myself settling anytime soon as I still have so much more of the world I’d like to see. It’s fantastic that you’ve been able to find work that is flexible like that. Where have you been and do you have any current travel plans for 2016?
    Krista x

    Like

  2. I can totally relate! I became an attorney a few years ago with the intention of getting a job and starting my career. Turns out, I’m much more interested in seeing the world than climbing the corporate later. So, I chose to work on a contract basis and even got a part time customer service job with an airline. Definitely doesn’t pay as much as a law firm job, but it does give me the flexibility to jet set whenever I want!

    Neither my friends nor family seem to quite understand it. I am constantly asked when I’m going to get a “real job” or what I plan on DOING with my life. I’m learning to drown out the haters. At the end of the day we have to do what makes us happy and not worry about other people judging us! Do you girl and happy travels!

    Like

Leave a comment